MOOT COURT BRIEFS

THE ROGER J. TRAYNOR CALIFORNIA MOOT COURT COMPETITION BEST BRIEF: 2002 AND 2001

The Roger J. Traynor California Moot Court Competition is a nationally recognized appellate moot court competition. For the past three years, under an arrangement with the State Bar, the Witkin Legal Institute and West Group have administered the competition.

The Traynor moot court competition is an annual event where threemember teams submit legal briefs and argue before a panel of distinguished judges. All California schools are invited to participate in this annual competition. Each year, fifteen to twenty of California's top law schools send teams to compete.

In 2001, and again in 2002, the San Joaquin College of Law moot court team won the California Academy of Appellate Lawyers Award for the competition's best brief. The 2001 team consisted of SJCL students Alex Peltzer (lead writer), and Kim Raven and Dianna Setoodeh (oral advocates). The 2002 team consisted of SJCL students Edward J. Johnson (lead writer), and Gregory Norys and Lillian Macias Weiland (oral advocates). The 2002 team also was awarded the Bernard E. Witkin Award for Excellence in Appellate Advocacy, for placing first overall in the competition (combined written and oral scores). The SJCL Moot Court Program is directed by Assistant United States Attorneys Jonathan B. Conklin and Stanley A. Boone, adjunct professors for SJCL.

The SAN JOAQUIN AGRICULTURAL LAW REVIEW is proud to republish these award-winning briefs.